Long Term Project (Polaroid a Day)

2016:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2017 (January)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

February

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

March

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

April

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Favourite Polaroid:

05

Overall I’m very happy with the daily project. I feel that it’s something I would like to continue to do, but maybe to a lesser extent. I found it difficult to find interesting things to photograph as my daily life isn’t filled with adventure, but as a result of this it forced me to start looking harder and thinking more critically of my surroundings. I find myself noticing more now, especially when something is out of the ordinary on my usual route to University and back.

I can’t say it’s helped my photography skills immensely, as I rarely went out looking for that unique shot. Most of the photographs are half-arsed moments from my day, probably because little excites me enough throughout my day to capture it.

Looking back on the photographs and reflecting on my days, trying to recall what happened on that day actually became easier and fascinating. Just looking at one photograph and help me remember the entire day, rather than it all being lost. And of course that one moment is permanently captured. I can definitely see the progression of my life from when I started to now, and I can remember what things were like back then compared to now.

I think that’s a perfect way to end the making of. It’s similar to our map projects from semester one. These photos are a map of my life from then to now.

Hopefully some of it makes sense, but a lot of it is very personal. I hope there’s some eye catching photos that you like, and I hope you find as much interest in it as I do.

Leave a comment